I don’t own this post.

On the subject of intellectual copyright:

I had just finished writing a blog post for BCM110 and showed it to my mother for proofreading and general feedback (because she’s no expert on media and communications unfortunately). And then she said, “Will someone take your blog post and repost it as their own? What will you do if that happens?”

Super valid point, Mum.

Even though I have a hazy right to my material for the next 50 years – because posting content online is considered “publication” unless explicitly stated as part of the public domain – it’s pretty easy for someone, say a student, to see my blog post and Ctrl+C Ctrl+P that s*** into their own blog.

WordPress even has a page dedicated to keeping your posts safe from plagiarism. So on the advice of WordPress itself, I’m going to be adding the following caption at the bottom of my blog and consider adding it to the bottom of each post (although I’m disinclined):

© Karina McKenzie and stutterstumblewritings, 2013-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Karina McKenzie and stutterstumblewritings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 comments

  1. I love how you incorporated an example from something so simple. It’s crazy scary how easy it is to cut and paste someone else’s work and make it your own! I think I will follow your lead and use WordPress’s plagiarism safe advice to! Keep up the great work! 🙂

    1. My original reply to my mother is my time stamp is basically my only claim. Obviously, if another student copied this and reposted it, their time stamp would be later and I could use that to defend my copyright/originality to the uni. Thankfully, you can’t hack the internet clock.

      1. Exactly! If someone did copy and repost it there would be no excuses for the different time stamps. Ps. Love your photo with Totoro.

Leave a Reply

