When People Wear Apple Wearables

I’ve been asked to “critique or analyse a text” for you (twice – look for the next one to be coming up in a few days!) Aside from the woeful vagueness of this instruction, the task seems straightforward. I would have liked to have chosen a movie or a book, because the term “text” in university literally means any vehicle for communicating ideas, but I’ve gone with this YouTube video from BuzzFeedVideo called People Try The Apple Watch For The First Time.

This is a survey of two women going to the Apple event showcasing the imminent Apple Watch range. The video is comprised of three main features: prior to the event the subjects give their impressions of what this product will be like; during the event they are able to try on the watches and comment on the features; and after the event they reflect on the product and their overall experiences. Interspersed throughout are plenty of B-roll shots of the watches, the event guests, the presentation given by the Apple representatives, and so on.

When critiquing a study, there are two main concepts to be considered:

1. Reliability: does the study have the ability to be reproduced with the same results?
2. Validity: does the study measure what it purports to measure?

So, would I call this text reliable? If you were able to wipe these women’s minds and relaunch this event, I’m sure the results would be the same. Or if there was an Apple Timemachine to perform it again. That being said, I don’t think the subjects would respond 100% with the same comments, as the data is completely qualitative and based on their subjective opinions. It’s probable the video is another marketing ploy for Apple, as BuzzFeed has a huge audience and this particular genre of presentation would make the product line more appealing to its viewers. If this was the case, any poor reviews would have been cut from the video; there is obvious editing throughout.

I think the text does not fully achieve its goal. The research question would be something like, “What do people think of the new Apple Watch?” In this case, two women are not a thorough sample. The women are from different ethnic backgrounds but they do not represent a whole sample of the population. However, they are people. Just… not enough people, in my opinion.

Regardless, I found the video to be a quick and entertaining glimpse of a forthcoming piece of technology that I personally think is a joke. The structure was logical with the three parts of before, during and after. The opening clip was a slightly confusing choice, particularly because of the spoken content. It did not seem immediately relevant. My favourite section was one of the subjects reflecting on her previous conceptions about the product and how the experience changed her mind. I liked that we were able to see some of her context prior to the experience.

It was interesting for me to consider a video such as this as a form of research. I probably won’t get the watch though. I’m not made of money!

8 comments

  1. I really like your analysis of the video on the Apple Watch. I was also confused at the open ended nature of the ‘analyse a text’ instruction, and I really like how you have interpreted this. Using a video to discuss research makes it much more interesting. It’s amazing how much media research features in our everyday life, and you have definitely given me an alternative view of the types of texts that could be analysed. Your post is also very engaging!

    1. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I was really struggling with the instruction and I care about my blog so I didn’t want the post to be completely unengaging. It occurred to me that BuzzFeed articles and videos are just more examples of social research, which is very cool because of how successful it is.

  2. This is definitely a different approach to analysing a text than what i initially thought when thinking about academic texts. very interesting story and probably a lot more relevant than most of the peer reviewed journals that most people will look at

  3. I really enjoyed reading your post 🙂
    I have posted both of my text analysis blog posts, and found them difficult to write. Not only because the task was so broad, but to write in a style that was appropriate to my blog, and didn’t just sound like an easy. You did this really well! You post was informative and covered
    the main points on a textual analysis, while still maintain a conversational tone suitable to a blog post. 🙂

  4. Great read! I completely agree with your point about the 2 women not being a big enough sample size to provide evidence for the research question. Similarly, I agree that the video has obviously been edited to portray Apple and their products in a positive light as there were no negative comments about the product. I too enjoyed the last part of the clip where the women tells us of how she was skeptical of the product at first but going to the event and trying on the product first hand changed her mind. The video was organised into 3 sections like you mentioned which made it easy to digest and enjoy. Overall, an awesome read and fun video to watch! Plus I utterly agree with you that the Apple watch is a joke of product – who wants a watch that doesn’t even run for 24 hours and need charging every night?!! =D

  5. i thought this was a really well structured article as you used a video at the start then you had dot points. you had a clear point to make as well and it was easy to follow

  6. I really enjoyed reading this post. Upon hearing the instruction to analyse a text I could already visualise the endless stream of dull texts I would see, so this text choice was quite refreshing. You really succeeded in using a personal voice in your writing while simultaneously giving a well thought out, thorough academic analysis.
    I couldn’t agree more with how ridiculous the Apple Watch seems and your criticisms of the video were spot on. Overall a very enjoyable and engaging read!

Leave a Reply

