Social Media is the Liquid Labour of Love

Yes, there’s been a major shift in jobs. Industrialisation is no longer the name of the game; information has taken over. As such, there are a lot more people sitting on their bums in front of computer screens either at home or in open plan offices, churning out information after information. If we’re not looking at laptops we’re handcuffed to smart phones, bombarded by emails and messages and the occasional phone call. (My, how times have changed!)

If the worker must always be available, consider your online social presence. Even though you may be asleep, your Facebook profile never turns off. You could be receiving messages all night long. The same can be said for any social network on the Web. What makes this more confusing is the pervasiveness of jobs available where you are paid to be online liking Instagram pictures and commenting on Facebook posts as a brand representative.

I spent the day recording how I interacted with my online world in the following podcast. (Typically I don’t have this many notifications first thing in the morning but the last few days have been an exception.)

9 comments

  1. This was a great post that really hits home the idea of how we are always online and always connected which is kind of scary when we think about it, having an online ‘self’ that never turns off, never sleeps or shuts down and is always able to be seen puts it into perspective how digital our lives are becoming. The soundcloud link assisted your post well as you gave a great example of how this is actually taking place in everyday lives! It was clear and enjoyable to listen to and didn’t stray away from the content.

  2. Haha very nice podcast. Yep, we pretty much have social media following us wherever we go. Our presence is constantly lingering in cyberspace. If you think about platform such as Hootsuite: https://hootsuite.com/, it allows you to schedule posts onto social media at designated times of the day, to bring consistency within your posting. Like you say, your online presence can be bleeding out even when you’re sleeping!

  3. The podcast was a nice touch! While I am tempted to agree with you on this whole issue (I’ve definitely experienced the whole ‘presence bleed’ notion myself), I found that it was really a good idea to look at both sides. As in, the freedom that our online presence now brings us. I say this simply because it’s highly unlikely that we’ll ever turn back on how much we’re using mobile technologies to keep connected. So while we’ve definitely got to look at the harm it’s causing (like you have), we should look at the benefits too and start to think about practical solutions of how to balance this all. But a very good post regardless!

    1. Hi, thanks for commenting! I’ve reread my post a couple of times and checked my transcript but I don’t think there was a point where I actually passed a judgement on presence bleed as being a “bad” thing. The purpose of this post was simply to observe and note how liquid labour does not apply to only work but also social aspects of online life.

      1. Isn’t it fascinating that a transcript of your social media interactions can be interpreted as a criticism because you are revealing a common practice that invades every period of the day. I loved the piece, Kae.

  4. Hey Kae,
    Solid blog post covering this weeks topic of liquid labour. You seem to hold a great understanding of the content provided to us in the lecture, effectively linking in your own experiences in which I feel we all share in our social media presence. I really enjoyed your podcast as I feel it was a bit left wing in terms of to what other people have been doing for their own. Nice work.

  5. I really love your idea of documenting your day using social media! It really hits home the point that we are constantly at work on the web. I found myself commenting on other’s blogs during class today as well as in my lunch break, so you can definitely see this work leaking into my uni and personal time. I think what’s also important to note is that because these profiles are constantly running, we often feel a pressure to use our personal time to answer messages and emails just to stay up to date.

Leave a Reply

